Stumbling Out of the Gate

Michigan Mitten-2

Hey, friends and readers.

Thanks for stopping by The Mitten, a blog dedicated to exploring the unique cultural landscape of Michigan’s lower peninsula. For those of you who don’t know, my name is Quinn Strassel. I used to write for a blog on OurStage.com where I also worked as an…”on camera personality“…or “broadcast journalist” depending on the given day and assignment. That was in Boston.

I have since returned to my hometown of Ypsilanti, Michigan. In an attempt to reconnect with the people/music/food/etc. of my home state (while simultaneously reconnecting with the act of writing and making videos) I decided to start a blog covering its underground/indie cultural happenings and phenomena.

Due to circumstances involving, strangely enough, a video that tangentially relates to Michael Jackson’s death (post coming very soon), I’m opening the blog a little ahead of schedule. I appreciate suggestions and patience as I get it all together.

P.S.  Isn’t the mitten above the greatest mitten you’ve ever seen?  It was photographed by a really cool artist named Sarah Skeen.  Apparently, her mom sewed it in home-ec class as a thimble cover many years ago.  Sarah also has a blog AND makes jewelry which you can buy (along with photo prints) at her Etsy store.  I highly recommend her work.  

5 Responses to “Stumbling Out of the Gate”

  1. themittenblog Says:

    P.P.S. If any of you are dexterous w/ Photoshop, I’d love your input into how I can make a banner that incorporates the mitten and text. Please send me your thoughts (quinnstrassel@gmail.com)

  2. Hey Quinn. UM Hockey stinks but I’ll root for the football team. The site looks pretty good, man. How long until you get in trouble for a “School of Rock” scheme?

    • The Mitten Says:

      Already fired for the School of Rock scheme. But it was worth it to see those darn kids rock it out one last time at the battle of the bands.

  3. Great idea for a blog! I lived in Ann Arbor and Ypsi for a little over a decade before moving to the east coast a couple of years ago. I’ll be sure to check out your site whenever I miss the ol’ mitten state. Keep up the good work!

  4. The banner looks fantastic! Love how you used my mitten photo! 🙂

Leave a Reply

